PDA

View Full Version : Control 30

Amok
04-27-2006, 07:12 PM
Hi all, newbie here. Did the mandatory search (veteran of other forums) but found nothing.:(
Would anyone care to comment on this model? http://www.jblpro.com/pages/install/Control_30/Ctrl30.pdf
I heard one under non-ideal circumstances and it peaked my interest. It seems rather unique to me with the coaxial mounted CD/alu cone mid. Almost more like a well executed studio monitor than an outdoor speaker!
Reminds me of the TAD home speakers (design approach, rather than sound) which are highly regarded. Thoughts appreciated...

- AJ

Amok
04-29-2006, 08:44 AM
None of you JBL fans have heard this model I huh? Well, thanks for looking anyway:) . Might want to give it a listen if available in your area. It's an interesting design IMHO.

- AJ

Zilch
04-29-2006, 10:14 AM
It's certainly sporting good specs, isn't it? Much is made of recent coaxial design efforts on the JBL Pro site, as well as cone driver midrange horns.

I've not heard these, but I have a bunch of different Control series systems running with various TV's around the house here. I'm tempted to try a pair of those next....

johnaec
04-29-2006, 01:07 PM
Little 2" voice coil on the 10" LF, though. 'Probably not quite the control compared to the 3" VC jobs...

John

CONVERGENCE
04-29-2006, 03:23 PM
I heard the JBL EON at an office party. I must say the mids were very loud
and covered the area quite well. The system was hooked up to a Yamaha powered mixer. The hall was all carpeted. I found the speakers fatiguing
after 1/2 hour. The sound is not HI FI. It's more of stringent type sound.

Anny way the model 30 coulldn't be better.

My 2 cents worth.

Zilch
04-29-2006, 03:48 PM
You mean "strident?"

Enlighten us as to the relationship between EON (which model?) and Control 30, please....

bonanzadave
04-29-2006, 03:56 PM