PDA

View Full Version : JBL/UREI

Ducatista47
04-24-2006, 08:39 PM
I have been messing around with two JBL/UREI amps for a couple of months, and I really like them. They seem very much more Hi-fi than sound reinforcement quality to me. I will take Subwoof's word for it that they are the most solidly built solid state amps ever, they sure look like it. I have a 6260 and a 6290. The 6260 is feeding the 2245H's in my 4345's right now and it is a marriage made in heaven. They have to be the most conservatively rated ss amps on the planet. Since bi-amping connects the low pass amp directly to the voice coil, none of the damping is wasted and it sounds like over a thousand factor to me. At least the "over 200" claimed.

A neat feature is the full complementary output (PNP/NPN). This skips the usual phase inverter stage, I think, making a straighter and cleaner signal path.

I was wondering what other members think about these units, and this line in general. I was also curious if they are plentiful or scarce.

Maybe this should be on the Related Gear thread, but they are JBL's!:)

Thanks, Clark

Zilch
04-24-2006, 11:08 PM
6230 and 6260 are the lab standard here, running all day every day. I've never owned 6290, 'cause I don't need to mess with the fan. Any amp with two power switches is overkill by design for my needs. If I ever need that much power, I figure I can use a pair of bridged 60's.

They are plentiful on eBay, in the $100 to $150 range, typically, though they've been going for more of late. Curiously, the 30's often get bid up higher than the 60's. I like the versions with 4-in-line speaker binding posts better than the quad cluster, 'cause I'm switching leads often here. No biggie.