PDA

View Full Version : Altec crossover schematics?

mcds
03-31-2006, 05:06 AM
Hi guys,

I'm a newbie here. I've acquired an Altec VotT using the N501-8A crossover for a 416-8C woofer and 902-8B hf driver combo. Is there a schematic for the crossover somewhere on the net? I suspect the internal components of the XO may be well past their best-before date and I'd like to see if upgrading any components would make sense.

TIA for your help.

speakerdave
03-31-2006, 06:31 PM
I'm doing this from memory, please note, but I don't think you really need a crossover schematic. There are only two capacitors in that can (as I recall). They are both the same size and it is an odd size--that is, they were probably special-made, and in mine you could read the size on the capacitor. You will have to do some arithmetic to find a way to get VERY CLOSE to the same capacitance with available sizes. Note carefully how they're connected before you cut anything a way. While you're in there fuddling around you might try adding some bypass caps.

David

Earl K
03-31-2006, 07:12 PM
I'm a newbie here. I've acquired an Altec VotT using the N501-8A crossover for a 416-8C woofer and 902-8B hf driver combo. Is there a schematic for the crossover somewhere on the net? I suspect the internal components of the XO may be well past their best-before date and I'd like to see if upgrading any components would make sense.

TIA for your help.

- You really don't need a schematic since you already have existing Altec crossovers.